Liechtenstein is a principality, also known as a princedom. In other words, it is a constitutional monarchy but headed by a prince. The monarch is the head of state while there is an elected parliament that enacts the law. The monarch is hereditary, with the head of government appointed by the prince before being proposed and voted on by the parliament. However, the government is a collegiate body that consists of the head of government and the four government councilors.

The top seat in Liechtenstein is hereditary, but the government is a collegiate body, consisting of the Prince and four elected councilors. The head of state succeeds his father while his colleagues in the government are proposed by the parliament then appointed by the prince. Only Liechtenstein-born men and women are eligible to be voted for. Each of the two houses, the highlands and the lowlands, should have at least two members and their deputies.
The Landtag of Liechtenstein is located in Vaduz. It lies in the heart of Peter-Kaizer Square, just a stone throw away from the government building. A proposal to build a new parliament building was rejected in 1993 due to its high cost. Munich-based architect Hansjoerg Goeritz designed the current parliament building in 2008.

Active political parties in Liechtenstein include the Progressive Citizens' Party, the Patriotic Union, the Independents, and the Free List. However, Liechtenstein is generally described as having a two party political systems, with the two parties being the Progressive Citizens' Party and the Patriotic Union.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps