Where is Kosovo?

Located in Southeast Europe, Kosovo has a 714.00 km border with Albania (112 km), Macedonia (160 km), Montenegro (76 km) and Serbia (366 km). Serbia, along with several other states, protest the United States' and other states' recognition of Kosovo.

Kosovo is a European country covering 10,887.00 km2. and slightly larger than Delaware. Its geographic coordinates are 42 35 N, 21 00 E and Pristina is the capital city.

The name Kosovo comes from the Serbian word "kos", which means blackbird.

Its ISO code is XK.


Kosovo has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a continental climate with relatively cold winters and hot, dry summers. Its terrain is mostly flat, surrounded by several high mountain ranges.


Kosovo has a population of 1,883,018 making it the 150th largest in the world. Pockets of high population density exist in the east part of the country.

Albanian is the official language. The major ethnicity reported is Albanian. The most common religion is Islam.


It proclaimed its independence from Serbia in 2008. Its constitution was last ratified in 2008.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Kosovo's GDP is $18,490,000,000.00 (USD) with $9,600.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 148th largest economy and its citizens the 136th richest in the world. The currency of Kosovo is the Euro (EUR).

Its major export partners are Italy, Albania, and Macedonia. Its main exports are mining and processed metal products ands scrap metals. Its major import partners are Germany, Macedonia, and Serbia. Its major imports include foodstuffs, livestock, wood, and petroleum.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018