Where is Guinea-Bissau?

Located in Western Africa, Guinea-Bissau has a 762.00 km border with Guinea (421 km) and Senegal (341 km). It has a 350.00 km coastline. There is a longstanding low-grade conflict between Guinea-Bissau and parts of Somalia and Liberia.

Guinea-Bissau is an African country covering 36,125.00 km2 of which 22.16% is water and 28,120.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 61st smallest country in the world and slightly less than three times the size of Connecticut. Its geographic coordinates are 12 00 N, 15 00 W and Bissau is the capital city.

The country is named for the Guinea region of West Africa.

Its ISO code is GW.


Guinea-Bissau has a mean elevation of 70 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate that is hot and humid in the rainy season from June to November and more mild in the dry season of December to May. Its terrain is made up mostly of low-lying coastal plains with savanna in the east.


Guinea-Bissau has a population of 1,759,159 making it the 151st largest in the world.

Crioulo is the lingua franca; Portuguese is the official language. The major ethnic groups reported are Fulani, Balanta, and Mandinga. The majority of the country identifies either with Muslim or Christian beliefs.

The dialing code for the country is 245.


Guinea-Bissau is an independent country. It declared its independence in 1973. Its constitution was last ratified in 1984.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Guinea-Bissau's GDP is $2,851,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,600.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 187th largest economy and its citizens the 206th richest in the world. The currency of Guinea-Bissau is the Franc (XOF).

Its major export partners are India and Nigeria. Its main exports are fish, shrimp, and cashews. Its major import partners are Portugal, Senegal, and China. Its major imports include foodstuffs, machinery and transport equipment, and petroleum products.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018