Gambia’s national flag has four colors: red, white, dark blue, and green. The design of the flag is such that it is divided into three rectangular parts running from the left to right. At the top is the red portion. Below it is a white strip followed by the dark blue rectangle. After the blue portion, there is another white strip. It is followed by the green portion of the flag. The Gambian flag was adopted on February 18, 1965. It replaced the British Blue Ensign which had the coat of arms of the Gambia Colony, and Protectorate used earlier. The flag of Gambia is often referred to as the “Standard of the President.”

The color blue is symbolic of the River Gambia which is a major part of the country’s history. The country derives its name from the Gambia River. The white bands on the flag represent the unity and peace of the people. Red, on the other hand, signifies the sun which is a common occurrence in the country. Gambia is located within the savanna region and the equator. The green color points towards the forest vegetation which dominates the country. It also epitomizes the agricultural industry upon which Gambians depend for their livelihood and for exports.

The designer of the Gambian flag was Louis Thomasi. The government organized a contest in which Thomasi’s idea became the winning flag design. The country first hoisted the flag in 1965 which was Gambia’s Independence Day.

Initially, Gambia used the flag of the “Gambia Colony and Protectorate.” This flag had the British Blue Ensign with the territory’s arms in it. The arms had a circular design with a palm tree, elephant, hills, and letter “G” inscribed on it. These symbols appeared against a blue background.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps