The Republic of Estonia is a parliamentary republic with the prime minister as the head of the government. The Constitution of Estonia considers the president as the head of the state but with no executive powers. However, the president does appoint the prime minister to lead the government. The representative parliamentary system has three arms, which include the executive, the legislature, and the judiciary.

What Does the Election Process Look Like?

The Stenbock House has been the seat of the government of the Republic of Estonia, and it is where the prime minister and government conduct sessions. Stenbock House is on Toompea hill in the capital city, Tallinn. It has been the official Government Office since 2000. The Stenbock House has changed owners and functions in the past. Nonetheless, the name has never changed. Johann Caspahr Mohr, an architect, designed the building. The Stenbock House was completed in 1792, in a strict classical architecture with a balcony and six doric columns. The official residence of the president is in the suburb of Nomme.

Where Is the House of Paliament Found?

Under the parliamentary Election Act of July 11, 1994, an Estonian citizen aged 18 years on election day is eligible to vote while an Estonian citizen who is 21 years on election day may run as a candidate. However, for a person to be nominated as a candidate for the presidency, they have to be at least 40 years of age and be a citizen of Estonia.

What Are the Political Parties of the Country?

A person can only run for presidency for two consecutive five-year terms, though they have to receive a two-thirds majority of the full caucus of the unicameral parliament to be president. Ordinarily, the President of the Republic calls for the elections every fourth year, but may also call for extraordinary elections if vote of no confidence is passed on the Prime Minister or the government.

This page was last modified on February 7th, 2018