Where is Equatorial Guinea?

Located in Central Africa, Equatorial Guinea has a 528.00 km border with Cameroon (183 km) and Gabon (345 km). It has a 296.00 km coastline. In 2002, the International Court of Justice ruled on an equidistance settlement of the Cameroon-Equatorial Guinea-Nigeria maritime boundary.

Equatorial Guinea is an African country covering 28,051.00 km2. This makes it the 54th smallest country in the world and slightly smaller than Maryland. Its geographic coordinates are 2 00 N, 10 00 E and Malabo is the capital city.

The country is named for the Guinea region of West Africa.

Its ISO code is GQ.


Equatorial Guinea has a mean elevation of 577 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate that is hot and muggy. Its terrain consists of coastal plains, interior hills, and volcanic islands.


Equatorial Guinea has a population of 759,451 making it the 163rd largest in the world.

Spanish is the official language. The major ethnic groups reported are Fang, Bubi, Mdowe, and Annobon. The population is mostly Christian.

The dialing code for the country is 240.


Equatorial Guinea is an independent country. It gained independence from Spain in 1968. Its constitution was last ratified in 1991.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Equatorial Guinea's GDP is $31,770,000,000.00 (USD) with $38,700.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 128th largest economy and its citizens the 43rd richest in the world. The currency of Equatorial Guinea is the Franc (XAF).

Its major export partners are China, South Korea, and Spain. Its main exports are petroleum products and timber. Its major import partners are the Netherlands, Spain, and China. Its major imports include petroleum sector equipment, construction materials, and vehicles.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018