The capital city of Croatia is Zagreb. The city is located on the southern slopes of the Medvednica mountain along the bank of the Sava river. Zagreb was established between the 1st and the 5th century AD. Modern Zagreb witnessed a construction boom after the Second World War. The construction of the railway line and an Airport led to the expansion of the city along the Sava River. The city’s status as the capital city is designated in the country’s constitution, adopted in 1990.

Zagreb is divided into 17 city districts. The city covers an area of 247 square miles while the metro area extends to 1,436 square miles. The city’s population is estimated at 810,000 with a density of 3,200 per square mile. The metro population is about 1,150,000 with a density of 780/square mile.

Zagreb is not only an important hub for millions of passengers traveling across Europe but also an important tourist destination in itself. It attracts millions of tourists from Italy, Germany, and Austria. Zagreb combines a vibrant contemporary city culture combined with old-world charm. The city is full of elegant Austro-Hungarian architecture, renowned restaurants, and top-notch entertainment joints.

Zagreb experiences an oceanic climate classified as Cfb under the Köppen climate classification. The city experiences four separate seasons. Summers in Zagreb are hot. In some instances, heatwaves occur. Zagreb is Europe's 9th wettest capital city, much of the rainfall occurs in the summertime and last to the beginning of Autumn. Morning fog is more common from mid-October to January than any other months. Winters are cold with low precipitation.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps