Costa Rica is a democratic, independent and free republic. It gained its independence from Spain on September 15, 1821. Costa Rica has a well-organized government, with a president who is elected by the popular vote. The government runs its operations using three supreme arms that are distinct and independent, namely the executive, legislature, and judiciary. In Costa Rica, anyone elected in office can only serve for one four year period. This rule applies to everyone, including the position of the president and the deputies.

Costa Rica sees an election after every four years. The body that oversees these elections is called the Supreme Elections Tribunal. The Tribunal has the same rank and independence as the other powers. It is responsible for organizing, coordinating, and monitoring the elections. It is the duty of every Costa Rican who has attained the age of 18 years and above to participate in the elections every four years.

The location of Costa Rica’s parliament is in the El Carmen District in San José. The building that houses the parliament is popularly known as “Edificio Central”, or the "Central Building". Construction of the Central Building began in 1937 with materials imported from Germany and Czechoslovakia. Due to interruptions from World War II, the building was not completed until 1958. The president’s residence is meant to be the “Casa Presidencial” which is located in southeast San José.

The Republic of Costa Rica has two major political parties, the largest of which is the National Liberation Party. The second party is the Social Christian Unity Party. Many smaller political parties also exist.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps