Where is British Indian Ocean Territory?

Located in the Indian Ocean, British Indian Ocean Territory is an island nation. It has a 698.00 km coastline. Both Mauritius and Seychelles claim the Chagos Islands.

British Indian Ocean Territory is an Asian country covering 54,400.00 km2 of which 99.89% is water and 60.00 km2 is land. This includes the area for the 55 islands of Chagos Archipelago. and land area is about one-third the size of Washington, DC. Its geographic coordinates are 6 00 S, 71 30 E and Diego Garcia is the capital city.

Its ISO code is IO.

The dialing code for the country is 246.

The currency of British Indian Ocean Territory is the Dollar (USD).


British Indian Ocean Territory has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical marine climate that is hot and humid, although it is moderated by trade winds. Its terrain is very low and flat.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018