Officially called The Government of the Republic of Armenia, the country has a semi-presidential representative democratic republic. They have a multi-party system where the president is the head of state and the prime minister is the head of government. Together, the president and the government exercise executive powers while the legislative power rests on the unicameral parliament and the government.

Completed in 1951, the palace originally hosted the Council of Ministers of the Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic. A voter must be a citizen of eighteen years and above and a president can only serve for a maximum two terms of five years each. The Republican Party of Armenia which is currently in power is the largest political party. Other parties are Armenian Revolutionary Federation, Prosperous Armenia, and Way Out Alliance. Armenia recently promulgated a new constitution that, once it comes into use, will make the President a ceremonial role and vest more power on the Cabinet and the Prime Minister. Parliament will nominate a Prime Minister from the party with a parliamentary majority after which the President will appoint him or her. During the campaign periods, parties normally come up with slogans and manifestos.

The National Assembly of Armenia (informally the Parliament of Armenia) building is along Marshal Baghramyan Avenue in the capital city, Yerevan. The house has a sitting capacity of 105 law makers. Architect Mark Grigoryan designed the building after which construction began in 1948 and completed in 1950. Armenia President Serzh Sargsyan lives in the presidential palace officially called the Residence of the President of the Republic of Armenia which is along also along Baghramyan Avenue in Yerevan and was designed by Grigoryan.

Armenia has a multiparty system, where coalition governments are generally formed. Major parties include the Republican Party of Armenia, the Armenian Revolutionary Federation, and Prosperous Armenia.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps