Where is Albania?

Located in Southeastern Europe, Albania has a 691.00 km border with Greece (212 km), Kosovo (112 km), Macedonia (181 km) and Montenegro (186 km). It has a 362.00 km coastline.

Tirana is the capital city of Albania. It was adopted as the capital city in 1912 after the state declared independence from the Ottoman empire. It was founded by Barkinzade Süleyman Pa?a in 1614 and is located 17 miles east of the Adriatic Sea. Tirana has a population of 800,000. It is the only metropolitan in the country and the 7th largest city in the Balkans. It is the 8th sunniest city in Europe and therefore attracts tourists seeking warm temperatures. It experiences a hot Mediterranean/ dry-summer subtropical climate with 2,544 hours of sunshine annually. Tirana offers tourist an environment free from the hustle and bustle common in European cities.

Read more on Albania's Capital

Albania is a European country covering 28,748.00 km2 of which 4.70% is water and 27,398.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 55th smallest country in the world and slightly smaller than Maryland. Its geographic coordinates are 41 00 N, 20 00 E and Tirana is the capital city.

The country's English name seems to derive from the Illyrian tribe of the Albani.

Its ISO code is AL.


Albania has a mean elevation of 708 m above sea level.

It has a mild temperate climate with cool, damp winters and hot, long summers. It is mostly mountaineous and hilly, with small plains along the coastline.


Albania has a population of 3,038,594 making it the 137th largest in the world. The population of the country is rather evenly distributed.

Albanian is the official language. The largest ethnic group is Albanians. The population is mostly Muslim, with Roman Catholic and Orthodox groups also represented.

Albanian is the official language used in Albania. It is used by 98% of the population. Albanian occurs in two dialects, the Tosk and Gheg dialects. The language has seven vowels and 29 consonants. Minority languages of Albania include Greek, Aromanian, Romani, and Serbo-Croatian. Tosk is common in the southern part of the country while Gheg is common among the northerners and the Kosovo Albanians. The two dialects differ in writing and pronunciation. Foreign languages are becoming popular in Albania; Italian is spoken a majority of the population as the second language while the younger generations prefer English.

Read more on Albania's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 355.


Albania is an independent country. It gained independence from the Ottoman Empire in 1912.

Albania is a democratic state with a unitary system of government. The president is elected by a two-fifth majority in parliament and serves as the head of state as well as the commander in chief. The president appoints the prime minister who serves as the head of government. The president can serve a maximum of two terms while the prime minister can serve for unlimited terms. The presidential official residence and workplace is the Presidential Palace popularly known as the Palace of Brigades while the prime minister resides and works at the office of the prime minister. There are 140 members of parliaments representing the 12 counties of Albania.

Read more on Albania's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Albania's GDP is $33,900,000,000.00 (USD) with $11,900.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 124th largest economy and its citizens the 123rd richest in the world. The currency of Albania is the Lek (ALL).

Its major export partners are Italy, Kosovo, the USA, China, and Greece. Its main exports are apparel and clothing, asphalt, and metals. Its major import partners are Italy, China, and Greece. Its major imports include machinery and equipment, foodstuffs, and textiles.


The flag of Albania is officially known as the as Flamuri Kombëtar but bears the nickname flamur e Skënderbeut. It is red with a double-headed eagle at the center. The red color symbolizes the valor, bravery, and strength of the Albanian people while the eagle represents the sovereignty of the state. The current flag was adopted on April 7, 1992. The flag can be traced to Prince George Kastrioti (Skanderbeg) who first raised the flag in the 15th century in defiance of the Ottoman Empire. In the late 19th century, Albanian immigrants Faik Konitsa and Querim Panarity popularized the flag which became a symbol of Albanian resistance against the Ottoman Empire. On November 28, 1912, Albania declared independence from the empire and the flag was hoisted as a national flag. Several variants were used between this time and 1992 before the original flag raised - first in 1912, and then again in 1992.

Read more on Albania's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps