Where is Tokelau?

Located in Oceania, Tokelau is an island nation. It has a 101.00 km coastline. Tokelau notably included American Samoa's Swains Island in its 2006 draft independence constitution.

Tokelau is an Oceanian country covering 12.00 km2. and about 17 times the size of the National Mall in Washington, DC. Its geographic coordinates are 9 00 S, 172 00 W

Tokelau is a Polynesian word meaning "north wind".

Its ISO code is TK.


Tokelau has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

it has a tropical climate with a warm season from December to May and a cool season from May to December. The terrain consists of low-lying coral atolls with large lagoons.


Tokelau has a population of 1,285 making it the 233rd largest in the world.

Tokelauan and English are both widely spoken. The majority of the population identifies as Tokelauan, Tuvaluan, or Samoan. A good amount of the country belongs to the Congregational Christian Church.

The dialing code for the country is 690.


It is a territory of New Zealand. Its constitution was last ratified in 1949.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Tokelau's GDP is $1,500,000.00 (USD) with $1,000.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 227th largest economy and its citizens the 215th richest in the world. The currency of Tokelau is the Dollar (NZD).

Its major imports include foodstuffs, building materials, and fuel.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018