Where is Swaziland?

Located in Southern Africa, Swaziland has a 546.00 km border with Mozambique (108 km) and South Africa (438 km). In the past, the Swazi king has advocating the claim of parts of Mpumalanga and KwaZulu-Natal.

Swaziland is an African country covering 17,364.00 km2 of which 0.92% is water and 17,204.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 42nd smallest country in the world and slightly smaller than New Jersey. Its geographic coordinates are 26 30 S, 31 30 E and Mbabane is the capital city.

The name Swaziland comes from the 19th century King MSWATI II.

Its ISO code is SZ.


Swaziland has a mean elevation of 305 m above sea level.

It has a temperate climate with cold, cloudy winters and partly cloudy summers in the south an a subarctic climate in the north. Its terrain consists mainly of mountains and hills, with some moderately sloping plains.


Swaziland has a population of 1,451,428 making it the 153rd largest in the world.

English is the official language used for government business, while siSwati is also an official language. The major ethnic group is reported as African. The majority of the population identifies as Christian.

The dialing code for the country is 268.


Swaziland is an independent country. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1968. Its constitution was last ratified in 2006.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Swaziland's GDP is $10,940,000,000.00 (USD) with $9,800.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 154th largest economy and its citizens the 135th richest in the world. The currency of Swaziland is the Lilangeni (SZL).

Its major imports include motor vehicles, machinery, and transport equipment.

This page was last modified on December 15th, 2017