Where is Nepal?

Located in Southern Asia, Nepal has a 3,159.00 km border with China (1,389 km) and India (1,770 km). Nepal's joint border commission continues to work on contested sections of its boundary with India.

The capital city of Nepal is Kathmandu. It is also the largest metropolis in the country as well as the Himalayan hill region. It sits at an altitude of 4,600 feet. The city is named for the Kasthamandap temple. The temple was a two-story wooden structure built in Durbar Square in 1596. It collapsed on April 25, 2015, during a major earthquake.

Read more on Nepal's Capital

Nepal is an Asian country covering 147,181.00 km2 of which 2.60% is water and 143,351.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 93rd largest country in the world and slightly larger than New York state. Its geographic coordinates are 28 00 N, 84 00 E and Kathmandu is the capital city.

The name Nepal comes from the Newar people of the Kathmandu valley.

Its ISO code is NP.


Nepal has a mean elevation of 2,565 m above sea level.

It has a varied climate with cool summers and cold winters. Its terrain is flat in the south, hilly in the center, and rugged in the north.


Nepal has a population of 29,033,914 making it the 45th largest in the world. The overall population density in the country is quite low.

Nepali is the official language, while Maithali and Bhojpuri are also commonly spoken. The major ethnic groups reported include Chhettri, Brahman-Hill, and Magar. The majority of the country identifies as Hindu.

Nepal is a multiethnic and multicultural nation. There are an estimated 123 native languages in the country, and all of them are regarded by the Constitution of Nepal as national languages. However, the official and most important language of the state is Nepali, formerly known as Gorkhali. It is also the first language of the majority of Nepalese people, constituting 44.6% of the population. The Nepalese constitution also allows the various provinces in the country to have one or more official languages besides Nepali.

Read more on Nepal's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 977.


Nepal is an independent country. It was unfied in 1768. Its constitution was last ratified in 2015.

The official name for Nepal is the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. It is a sovereign central Himalayan state located between India and China. The country occupies a total area of 56,827 square meters. The nation comprises seven states, 75 districts, and 744 local administrative units. Nepal was not colonized, but along with Sikkim and Bhutan, it acted as a buffer state between India and China during the Sino-Indian war. One of the main challenges facing Nepal today is the struggle to transit from a dominion to a republic.

Read more on Nepal's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Nepal's GDP is $71,520,000,000.00 (USD) with $2,500.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 97th largest economy and its citizens the 191st richest in the world. The currency of Nepal is the Rupee (NPR).

Its major export partners are India, the United States, and Germany. Its main exports are clothing, pulses, carpets, textiles, and juice. Its major import partners are India and China. Its major imports include petroleum products, machinery and equipment, gold, and electrical goods.


Nepal's flag is unique among countries for being non-quadrilateral. The Nepali flag is a combination of two red pennants, formed by two overlapping right triangles. The upper triangle is smaller in size compared to the lower triangle, and they are both surrounded by a large deep blue border. Guidelines for the construction of the National Flag of Nepal are outlined in Schedule 1 of Article 5 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Nepal, adopted on November 9, 1990.

Read more on Nepal's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps