Where is Namibia?

Located in Southern Africa, Namibia has a 4,220.00 km border with Angola (1,427 km), Botswana (1,544 km), South Africa (1,005 km) and Zambia (244 km). It has a 1,572.00 km coastline. Namibia has placed a hydroelectric dam on Popa Falls along the Angola border.

The capital city of the Republic of Namibia is Windhoek and it is centrally located in Namibia. It is the center of all economic, cultural, and political activities. The city gained the capital status in 1990 after becoming independent from South Africa. Since 1990, Windhoek has grown economically from a small town to a great economy. The city of Windhoek had a population of 325,858 according to the 2011 estimates. Many Namibians are migrating to the city in search of jobs. Windhoek city has several tourist attractions sites. Some of the interesting sites include Namibia craft center, Cuno Hoffmeister observatory, Daan Viljoen game reserve, the national botanical garden, avis dam nature reserve, a tour around the city among others. These sites are worth a visit while in the city. The Windhoek city experiences a hot semi-arid climate with temperatures at an average of 13 degree Celsius throughout the year. December is the warmest month while July the coldest. Rainfall is received from May to October with February being the wettest month. The best months to visit the city are April, March, June August, September, and January. The temperatures are favorable for outdoor activities.

Read more on Namibia's Capital

Namibia is an African country covering 824,292.00 km2 of which 0.12% is water and 823,290.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 33rd largest country in the world and slightly more than half the size of Alaska. Its geographic coordinates are 22 00 S, 17 00 E and Windhoek is the capital city.

The name Namibia comes from the coastal Namib Desert.

Its ISO code is NA.


Namibia has a mean elevation of 1,141 m above sea level.

It has a desert climate with hot, dry temperatures and little rainful. Its terrain mostly consists of high plateaus, as well as deserts along the coast and in the east.


Namibia has a population of 2,436,469 making it the 142nd largest in the world.

Oshivambo, Nama/Damara, and Afrikaans are the most commonly spoken lnaguages. The major ethnic group reported is black. The majority of the country identifies as Christian.

Namibia’s official language is English. It was made the official language in 1990 after the country became independent. However, the number of people who speak English in the county is quite low as Nigeria is a multilingual country and other languages are often spoken. For instance, Oshiwambo is spoken by 48.9% of the population. Other languages spoken in the country include Afrikaans, Nama/Damara, Otjiherero, Kavango, and Namibian sign language among others. Many in Namibia speak the major indigenous languages with English being among the least spoken languages. Besides, foreign languages like French, German, Spanish, and Portuguese are spoken as well.

Read more on Namibia's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 264.


Namibia is an independent country. It gained independence from South African mandate in 1990. Its constitution was last ratified in 1990.

The official name of the government of Namibia is the Republic of Namibia, and it is a sovereign, democratic, and unitary state. The country gained independence from South Africa on March 21, 1990. The president is the government’s head and chief of state. The parliament structure is bicameral. There are two chambers of parliament namely the National Assembly, and the National Council. The parliament building is at the Tintenpalast located in Windhoek, the capital of Namibia. It is surrounded by the Parliament Gardens and found north of Robert Mugabe Avenue. The building was previously the administration block for the German government when the country was still its colony. Namibian citizens who are above 18 years are eligible to vote in the general elections which are conducted after every five years. Candidates for the presidential seat must be at least 35 years and above. The winning candidate must gain at least 50% of all the votes cast. Despite the multiparty democracy in the country, the only political party in the country that has won every election in the country since independence is South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO). Other political parties in Namibia include Democratic Turnhalle Alliance, National Unity Democratic Organization, and Rally for Democracy and Progress.

Read more on Namibia's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Namibia's GDP is $25,990,000,000.00 (USD) with $11,800.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 136th largest economy and its citizens the 125th richest in the world. The currency of Namibia is the Dollar (NAD).

Its major imports include foodstuffs, petroleum products and fuel.


The flag of Namibia features a blue triangle at the top and a green triangle at the bottom which are divided diagonally by a red stripe bordered at its top and bottom by narrow white bands. At the top left side of the blue triangle lies a golden sun consisting of 12 straight rays. The flag was adopted in 1990 when the country gained independence from South Africa. Blue represents the Atlantic Ocean and the Namibian sky, white represents peace and unity, red represents the people, green symbolizes vegetation and agricultural resources, while the golden sun is a symbol of power and existence. The designer of the Namibian flag is yet to be established as both Frederick Brownell and Roy Allen claim to have won the competitions leading to the flag being chosen. Before the WWI, distinctive emblems for the German colonies including Namibia were designed but were never used. In 1915, the South African Red Ensign was adopted when the South African troops occupied Namibia, formerly known as South West Africa. In 1928, the South African flag was adopted.

Read more on Namibia's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps