Where is Kiribati?

Located in Oceania, Kiribati is an island nation. It has a 1,143.00 km coastline.

Kiribati is an Oceanian country covering 811.00 km2. The area includes the three island groups of Gilbert Islands, Line Islands, and Phoenix Islands which are dispersed over about 3.5 million sq km (1.35 million sq mi). This makes it the 24th smallest country in the world and about 3 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 1 25 N, 173 00 E and Tarawa is the capital city.

The country's name comes from the local pronounciation of the word "Gilberts".

Its ISO code is KI.


Kiribati has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate that is hot and humid, although it is moderated by trade winds. Its terrain mostly consists of low-lying coral atolls surrounded by extensive reefs.


Kiribati has a population of 106,925 making it the 190th largest in the world.

I-Kiribati and English are both languages spoken. The major ethnic groups reported are I-Kiribati, and I-Kiribati/mized. The majority of the population identifies with Christianity.

The dialing code for the country is 686.


Kiribati is an independent country. It gained independence from the Unied Kingdom in 1979. Its constitution was last ratified in 1979.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Kiribati's GDP is $211,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,800.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 218th largest economy and its citizens the 202nd richest in the world. The currency of Kiribati is the Dollar (AUD).

Its major imports include food, machinery and equipment, and miscellaneous manufactured goods.

This page was last modified on February 6th, 2018