Where is British Virgin Islands?

Located in the Caribbean, British Virgin Islands is an island nation. It has a 80.00 km coastline.

British Virgin Islands is a North American country covering 151.00 km2. The area is comprised of 16 inhabited and more than 20 uninhabited islands and includes the islands of Tortola, Anegada, Virgin Gorda, and Jost van Dyke. and about 0.9 times the size of Washington, DC. Its geographic coordinates are 18 30 N, 64 30 W and Road Town is the capital city.

The British Virgin Islands were named by Christopher Columbus.

Its ISO code is VG.


British Virgin Islands has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a subtropical climate that is humid and affected by trade winds. Its terrain is relatively flat, although occasionally hilly.


British Virgin Islands has a population of 34,232 making it the 213th largest in the world. The country's population is fairly distributed throughout the islands.

English is the official language. The major ethnic groups reported are African/black, Latino, and white. The population is mostly Protestant Christian.

The dialing code for the country is -283.


It is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Its constitution was last ratified in 2007.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, British Virgin Islands's GDP is $500,000,000.00 (USD) with $42,300.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 212th largest economy and its citizens the 39th richest in the world. The currency of British Virgin Islands is the Dollar (USD).

Its major imports include building materials, automobiles, and foodstuffs.


The British Virgin Islands’ national flag features the British Blue Ensign defaced with the nation’s coat of arms. It also features St. Ursula who appears to be holding a flaming gold lamp in one hand, surrounded by eleven more identical lamps. The flag was adopted on November 15, 1960. The eleven flaming lamps depicted on the coat of arms signifies the 11,000 virgin followers of St. Ursula. "Vigilate", which is a Latin word meaning "be watchful", is the motto on the coat of arms. There are two more flags related to the country’s national flag, and they are the gubernatorial flag and the civil ensign. An old or torn flag in the British Virgin Islands should be disposed of in a dignified way such as burning it in private with respect.

Read more on British Virgin Islands's Flag

This page was last modified on February 6th, 2018