Where is Belgium?

Located in Western Europe, Belgium has a 1,297.00 km border with France (556 km), Germany (133 km), Luxembourg (130 km) and Netherlands (478 km). It has a 67.00 km coastline. The country is not currently involved in any territory disputes.

Belgium is a European country covering 30,528.00 km2 of which 0.82% is water and 30,278.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 59th smallest country in the world and about the size of Maryland. Its geographic coordinates are 50 50 N, 4 00 E and Brussels is the capital city.

The name derives from the Belgae, an ancient Celtic tribe.

Its ISO code is BE.


Belgium has a mean elevation of 181 m above sea level.

It has a temperate climate with mild winters and cool summers. Its terrain consists of flat coastal plains in the northwest, and rugged mountains in the southeast.


Belgium has a population of 11,409,077 making it the 77th largest in the world. 97% of its population lives in urban areas, one of the highest rates in the world.

Dutch, French, and German are all official languages. The major ethnicity reported was Belgian, followed by Italian and Moroccan. Half of the population identifies as Roman Catholic, with a large group identifying as non-religious.

The dialing code for the country is 32.


Belgium is an independent country. It became an independent country in 1830. Its constitution was last ratified in 1831.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Belgium's GDP is $509,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $44,900.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 37th largest economy and its citizens the 34th richest in the world. The currency of Belgium is the Euro (EUR).

Its major export partners are Germany, France, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom. Its main exports are chemicals, machinery and equipment, and finished diamonds. Its major import partners are the Netherlands, Germany, and France. Its major imports include raw materials, machinery and equipment, and chemicals.

This page was last modified on December 15th, 2017